Monday, August 23, 2010

Blueberry Cheesecake with Vegetarian Jelly Toping

I have always liked jellies and as kids we had our famous cherry "red aspic" for holidays. Since I became a vegetarian, I have been reluctant to try anything with gelatin since it is obtained from animal flesh. Many folks do not know this fact and I am surprised that even some vegetarian restaurants serve it, and when asked what that was, they would just simply answer :"jelly". Well, there are alternatives there: Agar is a red algae and a unique vegetable source protein. I purchased it through Amazon.com, and it worked perfect for the jelly topping I made for my blueberry cheesecake. 







Related Posts with Thumbnails